Please, please show me the way through !

This is a read-only part of the forum. All threads where seeing happens are stored here and come from this forum, the Facebook guiding area and various LU blogs. The complete list, sorted by guide, contains all links. The archives include threads of those that came to LU already seeing as well.
jimw

Please, please show me the way through !

Postby jimw » Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:39 am

Hi All - some background:

I am a 35 yr old married man and dad. I am a scientist and former academic, so very good at conceptual thinking (which can make life awkward!).

I have been looking / seeking for 'something' for about 10 years. I have been practicing meditation (breathing) and mindfulness for a few years and have read a lot of Buddhist books and advaita books (including by authors such as Eckhart Tolle). In my sitting meditation and in everyday life, I have experienced brief moments of stillness and great happiness as the thinking mind goes quiet (a.k.a 'jhana'). I know intellectually that there is no 'me' and have had a few brief 'flashes' of experiencing this - I think. I know I am not the mind or my thoughts. However, I seem to get drawn back into egoic thinking or more commonly, negative emotions (I can stop the internal dialogue no problem).

I feel like I am on the verge of 'something' (or maybe 'nothing'!), but I would really appreciate someone to show me the way through - it feels like I have jumped some hurdles and only a have a couple left. I have had enough of chasing my tail :)

I would be very grateful for someone to give me a shove over the last couple of hurdles!

vinceschubert

Re: Please, please show me the way through !

Postby vinceschubert » Mon Jun 25, 2012 8:42 am

Hi Jim, for the purpose of this process, it is best that you don't read or listen to anything else for the moment.
A commitment to stay for the whole process and to post at least once most days.