Hi IVI, please come in and bring your self.

Welcome to the main forum. When you are ready to start a conversation, register and once your application is processed a guide will come to talk to you.
This is one-on-one style forum, one thread per green member.
Ilona
Site Admin

Postby Ilona » Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:26 am

Thanks for joining in.
Let's talk, do you exist?

ivi

Re: Hi IVI, please come in and bring your self.

Postby ivi » Fri Oct 07, 2011 10:30 am

Well, that has been troubling me.
A while back I managed to realize that what I thought was me was not a constant thing. I'm a nurse and I started thinking I give all these drugs to patients which changes their personalities so there must not be a self because it is so easily changed either with drugs, age, lobotomy, stroke, etc. So the self may not be just the neuronal DNA encoded responses as I kind of believed before. But then what's up with that? I mean where did I get the sense of I anyways if it doesn't exist. What is up with all these other things that can be attributed to "me"?
A while back I also had some hormonal issues and was all moody and what not, but I kind of stopped all those things because I realized this is not me so stop acting all moody- I said to myself "it's just your hormones so just ignore the urges to cry or be angry or whatever because it is not you it is your body trying to dictate you so that's not you." So again I kind of have myself dissociated from parts of myself. However, I still feel a self somewhere, somehow yet it all seems kind of not right.
So something exists, not sure what it is, not sure if it's supposed to.

Ilona
Site Admin

Postby Ilona » Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:48 pm

Thank you for the answer, ivi. It is great that you came in here to address this troubling queston. But before we start I really want to know what is it that you expect here. Just make a list as long and a honest as possible of all that you think, hope, expect liberation to be and do for you.